The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in town and cities closing.

Do you agree or disagree?

Recently a controversial debate is heated up about the increase in online shopping fiesta, which may cause to shut down of local shops and vendors in our neighborhood. I defend this argument for some of the significant changes observed. The trend of online shopping is boosted up due to huge discounts and the availability of the latest product –line at our fingertips.

To sustain in the market have become competitive than ever before, where the market was a monopoly of few vendors. Online shopping is a revolution in shopping and youngsters are more inclined to this ongoing trend. Moreover cutoff in prices and sales like big billion days by Amazon are adding to this. Customers can choose from a myriad range of products from any brand. With new policies like one-day delivery and easy return have lured more public. For instance, more purchasing is done by people during the festival season as compared to the normal season due to humongous discounts offered.

Furthermore, time-constraint is one of the factors for change in shoppers’ behavior. People are working hard to keep up with inflation and work-life balance. Humans prefer to spend more time at home with family than hassling with parking spaces in parking –lots. They look for a more convenient mode to buy groceries, clothing and even electronic items. A survey was done by a reputed supermarket to track down the reason for their declining sales; it was found that eight out of ten people prefer to do online shopping than coming to the supermarket for daily errands.

To summarize, online shopping has grown with a boom, but if we prefer to go to local shops and if they start to deliver at doorsteps then closing down of the shops can be diminished. This can save many people’s livelihood and create a balance in the economy.