Some people say that saving money is a good way and other say that spending money is the best way to enjoy life. Discuss both views and your opinion.

A penny saved is a penny earned is a well-known saying which is believed by some of the people although people have another opinion, the best way to get pleasure from life is to spend the money. Spending money could give a sense of pleasure but savings are a good habit, which helps to prepare for the crisis. In this essay, I will highlight both the opinions for some of the reasons.

It is popularly said that spend the money which is left after savings and not vice-a-versa. In some cultures practice of saving money is inculcated from childhood. Piggy banks were introduced to start the routine of savings. Having a cushion or backup is a tendency of humankind which prepares us for any crisis like medical emergencies. In countries like India where job markets are unstable and people cannot rely on government-aided medical services, backup is always needed. It helps us to sustain until the conditions are favorable. For example, when the recession hit many countries and banks across the world were affected, India took the blow but was still stable due to our banking system where citizens have their savings to fight the slowdown.

On the contrary, many people have a view the expenditure of money is the best way of having fun and joy in life. Life is short and unpredictable, so no one knows what could happen in the next moment. They believe to live in the moment and not to worry about rainy days. All savings are of no use when you cannot enjoy and have a comfortable life. Furthermore, old age conditions might not allow you to have fun even if you have deep pockets. In a survey, it was found that most people who worried a lot about the future and savings died unsatisfied that they spent all their life saving for the future rather than enjoying the moment.

In conclusion, money should be spent wisely and keeping in mind the adverse conditions in life. Spending money sometimes for pleasure is good although planning expenditures should be considered.