It is more important to invest in further education rather than to gain work
experience after finishing university in order to find a good job.
To what extent do you agree or disagree?
Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge
or experience.
As the numbers of university graduates continues to increase, it can seem that there is no
alternative but to continue one’s studies in order to be more attractive in the job market,
rather than to seek to gain practical work experience. To see how valid this argument is, we
have to look at both sides of the debate.
First of all, let’s take a look at the first traditional route for university graduates. The main
reason why people undertake an undergraduate degree is to give them a competitive edge
in the job market, as gaining a degree is seen a guarantee of a certain level of mental ability.
It is then seen as necessary to combine this intellectual training with practical, real world
work experience in order to become a viable and strong contender in the job market.
The alternative view however argues that it is no longer enough merely to possess a
standard university degree and practical work experience. The sheer numbers of
graduates entering the labour market each year means that it is vital to gain an additional
competitive edge when applying for the more sought after positions with selective
employers.
So where does the truth lie? On the one hand there is the time honored view that has long
been the conventional and practical route to career success for young ambitious
individuals. On the other hand, the view that the job market has never been more
competitive and it is essential to aspire to much higher levels of competitive excellence.
With current lack of jobs available in the labour market it seems inevitable that one has to
gain additional qualifications which will prove to a potential employer that one is the right
candidate for that very job.