A lot of money is spent on repairing old buildings. Instead of repairing old buildings that money should be spent on knocking down old buildings and building new ones. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While, there is a contradiction in renovation of old buildings, the best way to utilize less money is to demolish and build the new one. To be very precise, I strongly believe that old structures should be replaced with the new one.

First of all, it has been observed that there are plethora of ancient buildings that falls automatically without proper preservation leading to deaths and damage to society. Although some structure are so old, it can fall down any time. An immediate attention should be taken to rectify it. With the involvement of newly constructed societies the maintenance gets distributed among the people. For example, in the year 2019 a four storied old building in Mumbai collapsed leading to 11 deaths and 40 trapped. This accident would have avoided if proper alimentation would had been taken from builder. Thus, it is important to keep an eye on aged building and demolish it when required to avoid high cost in fixing it.

Secondly, I believe that reconstruction of building in place of old one is more beneficial as it gives new interior with more benefits and compatible way of living in today’s era. With the increased demand of place to live in moreover in metro cities, it’s better to construct a new property instead. New houses not only gives more space to live in but also involves less maintenance. With the advancement of technology like different paints used that keeps the walls of houses secure for years. Also, Modern buildings implement sustainable design, adopt clean energy saving costs and increasing tenant occupancy. For instance, nowadays people prefer to buy apartments but with Interpol connections, Lift facilities, park view, and servant’s quarter. Therefore, it is seen that building new houses in place of old gives might give more profit in terms of rent.

To recapitulate, I would rather say that newly constructed building provides all kind of amenities with reduced cost of all types of maintenance as its gets distributed in terms of society maintenance cost.