Most artist earn low salaries and should therefore receive funding from the government in order for them to continue with their work.

To what extent do you agree?

While, artist draw meagre monthly income leading difficulties in their livelihood, government should provide good financial aid. To be very precise, I agree with this opinion as artist across the world is not getting paid for their beautiful contribution to the society yet.

First of all, it has been observed that technology has overtaken many fields of art and is eradicating painter’s skills. Although artist put their imagination into beautiful pictures, they don’t get enough package to support their families. On the other hand, art is one such domain that cannot be neglected. It’s not only that the government should take initiative but also localites should start buying handmade paintings. For instance, Devki Modi, a great Indian artist suffered from many rejections and was not able to bear the day to day expenses. After, working hard for long she managed to get the place in the list of top 10 artists. However, every painter doesn’t get that luck. Above, all it is important for the government should conduct exhibitions to promote local arts and to come up with discrete minimum wages schemes.

Secondly, it is often seen that not only the country’s culture is depicted through art but also the heritage is not getting the importance from upcoming generations. Traditional paintings on walls represents the culture of the city or the state, fantastic carvings demonstrate how the people of the country are. Beside, art in different forms generates enormous amount of money to the government. For example, even though the government is benefited a lot through tourism, they don’t take mandate steps to put artist’s expenses on priority. It is important to assist artist who has given the country a place in travel destinations. People from different country want to visit a well know city in India named Khajuraho in order to see the most scenic sculptures whereas, people don’t want to go to Pakistan when it comes to see artistic representation of country. Thus, government should not circumvent artist’s contribution and give incentives or stipend wherever necessary as it enhances the economic growth of the country.

To recapitulate, I would say that government should come up with plethora of strategies to boost up the salary packages and keep financial back-up to artists and thereby protecting the field of arts.