In many countries today, parents are able to choose to send their children to single-sex schools or co-educational schools.

Some people think that children going to single-sex schools have disadvantage later in life.

To what extent do you agree?

There are some countries where parents can choose what kind of school they want to enroll their kids, whether it’s single-sex schools or co-educational schools. From another’s point of view, single-sex school life has some drawbacks in their future life. To some extent, I agree with this opinion, as they both have their advantages and disadvantages.

The biggest disadvantage of single-sex school life on the non-academic levels is that children are sexually attracted to the opposite sex, as they spend most of the school hours with the same gender. If we think of the emotional and mental point of view, it makes a huge difference. Because of shyness and discomfort, children can not communicate properly and easily with each other. Furthermore, If they behave improperly with the opposite gender, miscommunication may lead to a serious problem, like if a girl doesn’t know how to react to a boy’s comments or compliments, she can get trapped easily, which can be problematic in the future. Secondly, homosexuality may be the impact of single-sex schooling.

On the other hand, the co-educational school life scenario is exactly the opposite; both girls and boys know how to behave or communicate. In this kind of school life, children spend more time with each other like gossip, indirect dating, manipulating girls or ragging, etc. Girls are more vulnerable to sex-related crimes. Indirectly, some children wasting their valuable time. However, If they study together, it will be helpful when they get the opportunity to work together.

To conclude, it is up to children how they want to behave in school. Teachers and parents can only guide them and show the right path towards their future. The school life should not be like a single-sex or co-educational. Children should learn together; anyhow, they are going to learn together in college life.