Many employers are employing people with good social skills as well as good qualifications. Do you agree or disagree that good social skills are as important as good qualifications to succeed in a job?

Nowadays, the majority of recruiters take interest merely in those interviewees who have both better academic and social skills. This essay agrees with the notion that social skills are as imperative as educational performance in order to become successful because social skills are essential to utilize our technical knowledge productively.

To begin with, it has been observed that people who cannot represent themselves to any employer are less likely to get a job despite having colourful scores. However, if a candidate has average marks with is efficient communication, the employer will prefer such people since they want someone who conveys the message vividly in the work environment. Therefore, there would not be any miscommunication, otherwise, which might lead to many work-place related conflicts. For example, a recent report concluded that 65 to 70% of managerial personnel have better communication skills than their technical knowledge.

Besides, the social skill of employees plays an essential role in the success of any company. Likewise, it is the manager of any firm who plays the role of mediator between the boss and workers. Similarly, if he or she is not that efficient in analysing the situation, the organization will not perform its day-to-day task properly as the ineligibility of that manager would create an imbalance amongst different resources; as a consequence, the performance of that organization will decline suddenly. Infosys, for instance, had to lose its face value in the market because the former manager could not maintain the balance between the inflow and outflow of the balance sheet.

To conclude, I reiterate that tertiary grades are not solely enough to excel in a career, but interpersonal skills are also equally essential along with technical know-how.