Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think tha advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweight the disadvantages?

Nowadays, people do not go often to museums as they use to do thanks to technology, but it does not means that is less fantastic than before. There are some museums that demands money in order to let a person enter in its premise and others do not use this practice. This essay will discuss both disadvantages and advantages and show that, indeed, people should be charged to visit a museum.

First of all, some might argue that museums should be free of charge. This would allow the visit of many interested people and make it possible to less affordable ones to enter too and acquire knowledge or be educated as well. For example, tourists and an excursion of poor people could enter in those buildings and learn about ancient history. In addition, this policy create a non elitist place which will bring more visitors. People are more willing to go to a place who do not discriminate and include all kinds of persons.

However, I defend that museums should charge a fee in order to allow a person to enter and see statues and paitings. If nobody pays for this, who do you think will keep the museum open? Taxpayers and this is unacceptable. Because of taxes are being intended to museums, government will not be able to build schools or hospitals which are more necessary and attend the needs of the society. Moreover, if museums charges its visitors, they could hire more guides and cleaners to attract more persons. This happens with some well-known museums such as MOMA, in New York, and Louvre, in Paris. Thus, there should be a payment for people be allow to enter in museums.

Therefore, this essay discussed the ways in which museums should or not demands a fee for those who to wish to visit them. In my opinion, althought there are disadvantages associated with a charge policy, the advantages clearly outwights them.