Many Museums charge for admission while others are free.

Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages.

There is no doubt that museums play a significant role in society as they contain valuable artifacts. Some museums charge an entry fee while others are free of any charge. In my opinion, I believe museums should charge a nominal fee to all visitors not only because the maintenance cost for such artifacts is huge but also require funds for infrastructure development.

Firstly, museums are a main attraction not only to students but also tourists, as the artifacts may have ample amounts of information, which may be useful for studies and promoting the place where these have been discovered. An entry fee to such museums may result in a decline of the visitors. This is because, the fee may not justify it's worth. To illustrate, many professors take school students to museums to understand the kind of life that existed many years ago, however a charge being imposed may reduce the visit of school tours as this would result in an additional cost to the school. In short, a charge for admission may result in reduction of the visitors.

Secondly, in my opinion, maintaining the priceless artifacts involves a huge cost, as this includes hiring of resources and purchasing of special equipment, which the museum's alone may find it difficult. This is because, they are likely to receive no other additional income apart from government funding, which may not be sufficient to carry out its activities smoothly. To illustrate, payment of salaries to curators in order to demonstrate and explain the significance of the artifacts to the visitors. Additionally, huge investments are required for maintenance of the artifacts. For instance, buying of special equipment. As a result, museums charging a reasonable fee can afford to give its visitors the best experience.

In conclusion, museums charging a fee may lead in a decline of this visitors. However, in my opinion, I believe a nominal fee being charged to all visitors will help them to not only maintain its artifacts and infrastructure but also give them an experience they will cherish for life. Hence, from the above points discussed, the advantages outweigh the disadvantage.