It is generally accepted that exercise is good for children and teenagers. Therefore, physical education and sport should be compulsory for all students in all schools.

What do you think?

Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Exercising regularly keeps an individual healthy and active and it is generally accepted that exercise is good for children and teenagers. Therefore, I think that it is good to make physical education and sport compulsory for all students in all schools. I will put forward the reasons below supporting this view point.

Physical education imparts the necessary knowledge to students who can learn the importance of following a healthy routine and makes them take conscious steps towards it. Schools which offer education coupled up with sport activities keeps the students healthy and active compared to those who follow a sedentary lifestyle. In the recent times, it has been observed that children and teenagers are at high risk of becoming obese due to lack of any kind of physical activity and long study hours. According to the latest survey by a World Health Organisation (WHO), 70% of children falling within the age bracket of 10-19 years have serious health issues such as hypertension, high cholesterol resulting into drastic weight gain etc. Physical education helps students to stay healthy as it would inculcate the habbits of differentiating between the various food options available and how the right choice can impact their physical and mental state of being. Similarly, sports would make the students remain active mentally as well as physically apart from being a fun activity.

Taking into consideration the aforementioned points, I conclude that it is extremely essential to make physical education and sports compulsory for children and teenagers and every school must include it as part of their curriculum.