many people believe that having a fixed punishment for all crimes is more efficient.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a fixed punishment?

It is often believed that fixed punishment for all types of crime can make the jurisdiction system much productive. The primary benefit of this situation is it will infiltrate fear whereas victims might not get real justice.

The most prominent advantage of having a certain punishment is that people feel fear to commit any kind of crime. That is to say that criminals will get penalized for doing crime, not on its severity. Due to fixed punishment, people will think twice to commit any crime because they already know the consequences and no offender can appeal to shorten their sentence as well. To illustrate, in Saudi Arabia, sharia's law nation, if a person steals either a car or a bag of rice, there is the same result on the basis of the intention of stealing. Therefore, the public does not want to indulge themselves in any kind of criminal activity.

The primary disadvantage of this method is that a victim might not get fair justice. Nevertheless to mention that in the judiciary system, it is important for the law to know the situation of the crime and the psychology of the criminals. It is mainly because that sometime a person might commit a crime in order to self-defense while other criminal might pre-plan the felony. For instance, a child in Bangladesh who had stolen the bread from a bakery and well-planned loot of the bank should not have similar results. In one case it is just for hunger whereas the second one is mere greed. Thus, this kind of arrangement does not guarantee justice for the victims.

To conclude, with this kind of justice system, the public will not want to take any kind of chances to get their hand dirty in any kind of criminal activity is the biggest advantage, however justice might not get served properly is the biggest drawback of this kind of judiciary institutions.