Some countries are struggling with an increase in the rate of crime. Many people think that having more police on the streets is the only way to reduce crime.

It is often believed that to counter the increasing number of crimes, more police personals should be on patrol. Although I agree with this statement to a certain extent because hiring more police personals does infiltrate fear in the mind of criminals, I still think because of its cost incompetency, another viable solution must be needed.

On the one hand, raising the number of police force on the road can discourage criminals to commit crimes. That is to say that if a criminal sees a police officer at every block surveilling streets then they have to be extremely careful before committing any crime. Not only it will prevent the crime but also there will be prompt action, if any such situation arises, to catch the culprits. For instance, a downtown area in Miami, famous for Haitian gangs and criminals, was cleaned up by increasing the ratio of police by 2 times in crime-prone areas. That is how, number of criminals is inversely proportional to the number of police surveilling the streets.

On the other hand, hiring more personal piles up the burden on the security budgets. Nevertheless to mention that intaking more security staff is a very costly method to reduce crimes compare to other means such as CCTV cameras and automatic drones. Instead of 10 police officers, there could be 10 cameras, take a fraction of the police officer's remunerance, if installed on the streets. To illustrate, a CCTV installation project that took place in Delhi, in 2014, was costed around 400 million Rupees whereas 600 million Rupees have to pay in 6 months if officers got double in number. Therefore, it is safe to say there are other advance systems that can take some weight off from the security fund's shoulders and help.

To conclude, though I agree that adding up the number of cops can certainly reduce the crimes, I think that role of advance technologies cannot be neglected because it can make police more vigilant and help government to devise their fund more economically.