In the modern world, the image (photograph or film) is becoming a more powerful way of communicating than the written word.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Images, in both forms as photos or films, have been increasingly popular. They are widely used as an alternative way to communicate instead of the written word and many people even think it is a more powerful way. Even though the image is generally a friendlier way to communicate, there are still some drawbacks that need written words to accompany it.

Writing doesn’t require a specific skill as long as people know how to write, which most people do. Unlike the image which people need to know how to film with the camera or have a great drawing skill, the written word only require people to put words they already know together to express their thought in other to communicate. Moreover, we only need a pen to write which is widely accessible to everyone. Furthermore, the image certainly lacks detail which could lead to misunderstood if there is no description accompany it.

Despite some of the drawbacks, the image remains one of the most popular ways to communicate, especially at present. It is widely used from media to advertisement because it is the most intuitive way to communicate. Most companies promote their products through advertisements in the form of images. We can see from posters on the road to video on TV or social media. Since more and more people own smartphones, it means they have a camera always available in their hands. As a result, people often share their photos on different platforms of social media to tell how was their day.

In conclusion, it is clear that an image can’t stay on its own to communicate. With the absence of the written word as a description, the image can lead to miss interpretations. Therefore, image and word need to come together to become a better way to communicate.