In most developed countries shopping is not only about buying the goods you need, it is also perceived as entertainment. Is it a positive or negative development? Give your own opinion and examples based on your experience

In many developed nations, consumerism is not just purchasing the supplies that are needed in everyday activities but it is also considered as entertainment. The essay will argue that it is a very negative development because buying the stuff which is not needed is waste of money and the fact that it is a very unproductive hobby.

To begin with, shopping involves allocating funds that are going to be spent on the list of items, which can be further prioritised based on essential and unnecessary goods. When purchasing is done for pleasure then it is highly likely that goods which are not important are also purchased, as a result, people end up spending their hard earned money on trivial things. For example, many people end up buying extra pair of branded shoes or branded jacket which was not on their list before visiting is a mall. The habit of buying unnecessary things takes a toll on their savings and sadly, they only realise it while paying interest on credit card payments.

As shopping takes a lot of time, it is good idea to have a better plan for the things that would be bought and the places that are going to be visited. Most of the times, lack of planning results into completely wasting the time which could have been utilised for watching a movie, reading a book or socialising with friends. Therefore, shopping not only costs money but also isolates us from friends and family. According to the survey published by The Times newspaper, highly successful people ranked shopping as the last option in the list of things they would do over a weekend. This illustration clearly justifies why they are successful.

In conclusion, purchasing goods which are not essential is a negative progress and it is recommended that people should save their money and time by shopping only essentials.