Most people think that the truth should be objective rather than subjective when it comes to news.

Do you think all news is true?

What is the function of a newspaper?

While, there is a great contradiction on the validation of fact’s represented in news, media should broadcast the truth. To be very precise, I strongly believe that the data differs in news in comparison to the real fact’s.

First of all, it has been observed that plethora of news channels telecast the programs that increases the publicity, without being bothered about the legitimacy of the fact’s given. Due to the strong competition in the market, media broadcast fake news. The role of news channels is to portray the information that is happening politically. On the other hand, incorrect information not only creates disharmony between people but also not allow them to represent the correct data in examinations. In order to, appear in UPSC exams, the knowledge should be up to the mark and we get this information from media. Wrong data will lead to bad markings. For example, in current situation of Covid-19, the number of deaths differs from the reality as shown in the worldmeter. Above all, it is important that news perspective should be to deliver correct facts and figures, so that society understand what exactly is going in the country and take preventive measures.

Secondly, numerous channels are biased as they act according to government bodies, so media speaks what the party want them to speak creating their ideologies. Across, the world there are limited channels who dogged the correct side of the story but they get stabbed from ruling party. Although channels provide information, citizens end up electing wrong ministers due to invalid facts provided. For instance, a well-known scheme in the name of manrega was meant to benefit labours, no data was ever shown yet how many of labours got the money. The substantial purpose of the newspaper is to spread awareness among people. Thus, media should not create misconception leading to invalid information.

To recapitulate, I would rather say the major purpose of news is to uncover the reality and it should convey in the right track to avoid unnecessary discomfort across the nation.