The movement of people from agricultural areas to cities to work can cause serious problems in both places. What are the serious problems? What measures can be taken to solve this problem?

The migration of men and women from rural areas to urban sides for employment can lead to serious predicaments in both places. The most prominent one among them is lack of food supply. While this can be solved by providing more options for employment in villages.

The phenomenon of more people shifting into cities may lead to a shortage of food production in the long run. This is because as many people move to cities, the population in villages decreases which means fewer people would involve in agriculture. This lack of involvement of people in farming is likely to affect the yield which may cause a decrease in the supply of food products in both villages and urban settings. For example, recent research reveals that in 2017, in India, agricultural production decreased by 30‰ over the last decade which was attributed to city ward movement of people.

However, the solution lies in opening up more vistas of employment in rural settings. This can be done by setting up more industries in these places which would employ a large number of people from the countryside area, thereby deterring them from migrating to urban areas for their living. This would, eventually, make a useful contribution in addressing the issue of more villagers going into cities for work. For instance, a similar initiative in Germany decreased the number of people moving into urban areas by 45% in 2015.

To conclude, plenty of grave issues may stem from the movement of people towards cities from the countryside which can affect the crops production negatively, whereas by providing better job opportunities in rustic areas the issue can be addressed effectively.