With the fast pace of life, lifestyle of individuals has dramatically changed than in the past. The change virtually includes the decision of becoming a parent at their advanced age. There are some reasons behind this trend, and I strongly believe that there are more drawbacks than benefits to this development.

Initiatively, in contemporary epoch young people were more aware towards their careers and they want to devote their whole time to their work and also want more pecuniary stability before extending their family. Moreover, social belief of getting married at the later age is fixing its roots in the society as getting married at age of 30 is more common that of our ancestors and then they need time to understand each other before having a baby in their life. So, they can nurture their offspring in better way. Probing further, woman empowerment is another cause for this trend. Woman empowerment has changed the old way of life where a women’s sole responsibility was to look after the children. Since many wives are working these days, they also decide to take babies after they reach a stable job position.

On the other hand, I feel there are several negative effects to this trend. First, delaying pregnancy by taking the birth control pills and other unhealthy methods cause infertility in both partners. This was proved by survey that infertility rate was accelerated to 40% from the last few years. Secondly, having a child at advanced age are more prone to genetically defects such as down’s syndromes. Thirdly, an age gap is increased between parents and progeny which lead to tier tensions in the family.

Conclusively, people prefer having children later in life because of career, social beliefs. However, I pertinaciously believe that the demerits of this development far outweigh the merits.