Nowadays online shopping is extremely popular. Discuss the impact of it on the environment and on people, who lost their jobs because of it.

With the introduction of electronic commerce business model, purchasing goods online is becoming increasingly popular. Even though this trend has brought convenience for buyers, the negative effects of it cannot be undermined. This essay will discuss how shopping over the internet is exacerbating environmental issues as well as the unemployment that it causes.

Undoubtedly, online shopping is degrading the environment on various levels. Firstly, e-commerce websites host numerous flash sales throughout a year to increase their profit which elicits people to buy more and discard their old products. Most of the time, old goods end-up in landfills or dump-yards, where they affect soil fertility. For instance, due to the popularity of e-commerce websites such as Amazon, eBay and Snapdeal the U.S government has reported a 35% increase in their electronic refuse due to these flash sales motivating people to buy more and discard old things. In addition, majority of the products are single-use items which promote the use and throw policy taking a toll on the environment as products are either made of sub-standard quality or meant to be disposed-off after one-time use. Thus, buying things online can have dire environmental consequences.

In terms of job opportunities, online shopping is replacing physical stores as everything is done virtually. Many a time, employers competing with huge electronic stores lay-off employees in order to compete with the prices of these cyber stores. As a consequence, laid-off personnel resort to performing menial jobs which drastically reduces their quality of life as well as have the potential to make people depressed that are working below their deserving designation. In India, for instance, a lot of electronic retailers and clothing showrooms are been shut down since they cannot provide competitive deals as their online counterparts. Eventually, making many salespeople, managers and other employees are left without work and depressed. Thus, buying goods over the internet is discouraging local businesses and people to do menial jobs in the long run to survive.

To conclude, shopping over the internet seems to be a hassle-free option; however, it stimuli use of disposable products which are not at all eco-friendly, in addition, clinch jobs from people who might not be able to reach the same level of corporate success once they had.