Nowadays people have free access to music and films online. Is this a positive or a negative development?

provide relevant examples from your own experience

With the advancement in technology the world has gone digital now. This revolution has not only changed the way people used to listen the music and watch movies but also eased it accessibility for them. In my opinion this is surely a positive outcome.

Firstly, due to digitalization and free of cost content, this industry’s socio-commercial advantage is revealed for economists. For this reason, the public has turned their attention to digital media instead of conventional earlier. As a result, many startups have got shot in the arm to grow their business exponentially in limited period. Furthermore, due to rise in this industry it opened doors for unemployed people, during this period companies like Netflix, forged a strong foundation for this business domain. Consequently, due to digitalization of music and film industry its significant potential got revealed for gross domestic product (GDP) globally.

Secondly, society has enjoyed access to this nil cost media from any geographical co-ordinate of globe. In other words, an American citizen can now access videos, movies and songs articulated in India, with the help of YouTube. Moreover, any immigrant to new land can access entertainment content from his own country without even paying for that with no time restriction.

Finally, ability to segregate digital media based on need and content has eased job of family leader. This means, although, the films and songs are free they also need to be monitored for different age groups. Children, for instance may not get access to explore content that they are not supposed to access. As per Bloomberg survey for digital media users it showed after parental control over accessibility total digital media users has plunged by 30 Percent.

In conclusion, unlike early 90’s, free online availability of songs and films helped people to access them from any corner of globe. Though the content is free, it employs millions of people with satisfactory wage. I think this media is evidently beneficial for society and can result in further social development