The number of men in higher management roles is way more than women but almost 50% workforce in developed countries is women. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women. To what extent do you agree?

In the modern era, women are sharing shoulders with men in almost every field of life doing the same work throughout the world. However, this is opined by some masses that companies should reserve a part of higher management seats for women, keeping in view of holding majority of such seats by men. I disagree with the above mentioned idea, supporting with some points in the upcoming paragraphs.

To begin with, such implementation can result in inefficient work and greater loss for the company. For instance, of a company allocates a certain percentage of seats for a specific gender and the deserving candidates are less in number, then the seats left will be joined by non-deserving ones and teams or projects led by such candidates will definitely effect the company’s profit. Thus, introducing such ideas will definitely help the opportunists, but on a whole, it will lead to more losses than gains.

Additionally, getting on such roles is not easy as a piece of cake. One has to work hard, honing skills and acquiring proper and appropriate training and education before applying for such posts. In this case, if an organisation focuses on a specific gender by holding a portion of seats, it will be injustice for the other gender, as the matter of selection is not based on qualifications but on the basis of sexual orientation.

To conclude, higher management roles are such positions which require skills and personal qualities, and enrolling of such roles should not be based on women or men. It is an unjustifiable suggestion to reserve certain seats for women.