Owing to the generation gap, the growing number of grey-haired people are burgeoning. Considering this, some people subscribe to this belief that it would have a detrimental effect on their countries while others believe that they are highly imperative for the societal structure. Although the increasing ratio of older ones could make a country less productive, this essay believes the preservation of culture is only possible with the assistance of elderly people.

On the one hand, if the ratio of people who cross the retirement age is more as compared to younger ones, the productivity of the nation would be less. In other words, the more the aged community, the less efficient their health is. Since when the person gets matured, the efficiency of body organs would reduce in comparison to earlier stages of life. In addition, in order to access the technological sophistication, which is flourishing in this contemporary era, they could not compete with the young generation. In a number of instances, it can be seen that companies with employees above sixties are often considered at lower ranks in the 'Best Companies List'. However, I disagree with this viewpoint because the experience of these people is generally greater.

On the other hand, I opine with those who think that this old age group is beneficial for society as they have wider horizons of knowledge not only about social life but also of the gone-by eras. Taking this into consideration, they disseminate their immense knowledge to children and inculcates the moral as well as social values in them along with patriotism towards the country by giving information about the patriotists who sacrificed their lives for the nation. Thence, this old generation has a significant role in preserving culture. For example, in India, most of the youngsters are obedient and respect the whole community because their grandparents instill moral values in them.

To conclude, even though people may vary in their opinions as older people are more likely reducing the productiveness of nation by many, I still believe these people lay the foundation of the country be preserving the culture.