One way to solve the problem of congestion on roads is to increase the tax on private vehicles.
How could this alleviate this congestion?
What are the measures can you suggest to deal with congestion in the cities?
The great innovation for the mankind is the invention of wheels. It is an irrefutable fact that traffic jam
has become a serious problem in most of the cities worldwide. Although increasing the taxes on private
cars is one of the solutions to curb this problem, there are some other repercussions as well, which I am
going to discuss in the looming paragraphs.
To commence with, increasing tax on transport may contribute to address the traffic jam on the ground
and it can diminish the increasing number of vehicles on the road day by day. The exorbitant cost for
purchasing and maintaining the vehicle will encourage individuals to opt a better alternative like public
transport or car pooling. For instance, Singapore has a policy of 100% taxes on vehicles; this is perhaps
the reason why Singapore stands on number one in the terms of less traffic jams.
On the other hand, there are some other ways to eradicate this issue, firstly, the government should
improve the reliability and condition of public transport like buses, trains and, encourage people to use
them. Secondly, government should make the policies by which the number of vehicles on the road
decline automatically. Taking Mr. Arvind Kejriwal as an example, the Chief Minister of Delhi, who
implemented the odd and even formula in Delhi in October 2016, and this formula not only reduced the
traffic but reduced the air pollution as well.
To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that, traffic can be reduced not only by imposing taxes but by
other ways also, because imposing taxes will directly trigger the pockets of individuals.