The population of most cities is growing as people move to cities to find work and new opportunities.
What problems do over population in city cause?
How can these problems be solved?
The increasing number of populations is becoming a serious issue in some of cities; this is because
individuals from rural areas are shifting to urban areas for lucrative jobs. In the looming paragraphs, I
will shed some light on the difficulties of over population in cities and repercussions of these problems.
To commence with, there are plethora of problems occurred due to over population and the most
conspicuous on is scarcity of land. In addition, every city has planned for certain number of individuals,
due to globalization; cities now have lot of opportunities which attracts the people who are living in
rural areas as well. Needless to say, over population also brings some problems like, less availability of
resources like food and transportation facilities. Moreover, one of the major causes of traffic jams and
air pollution is also over crowded cities. For example, according to an article in The Tribune in
September 2019, most of the multinational companies have their offices in Mumbai and this is perhaps
the reason why, Mumbai has become most polluted and crowded city in India.
On the other hand, there are some solutions of this problems also, firstly, government should make the
policies by which manufacturing units or companies get influenced to setup their units on the outskirts
of cities, which not only reduces the cities to become over crowded but open the door of opportunities
for the people living in rural areas also. For instance, Himachal Pradesh in India, introduced the policy of
50% subsidy in electricity bill if unit is placed outside the city and with this policy, both the people of
rural areas and companies got benefitted. Last but not the least; government should also make public
transport more convenient and available to villages so that individuals can easily commute to their work
rather than living in cities.
To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that if there is a lock there is a key as well, in the same way
each problem comes up with solution. All we have to do is understand the problem and shift to the best
alternative to eradicate the difficulties.