In order to learn a new language well, we should also learn about the country as well as the cultures and lifestyles of the people who speak this language.

To what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Learning a new language is very common these days and many people have their own reasons for learning a new language. It is inevitable to learn a new language without getting familiar with the cultures and customs of the people who speak that language. Some people advocate that it is possible to learn a new language only through vocabulary and grammar without understanding the essence of it, which I completely disagree. This essay will argue why we should learn about the country and its inhabitants which we intend to learn its language.

We as humans tend to see the world through our own perspective, many of us have the assumption that people of other countries think the same as we do but they only speak in different languages which only differs from ours in vocabularies and grammars. The reason behind this assumption is the lack of sufficient communication among people from different nationalities. For instance, long before the era of communication people used to learn a new language only through vocabulary and grammar books like the way my father have learnt English during high school. This method of learning a new language is obsolete and proved to be not efficient by many new thorough researches.

On the contrary, nowadays, thanks to the internet and the new means of communication people can easily link with each other and have access to the plethora of knowledge about other nationalities, customs, and the history behind them. By the means of all these improvements people who desire to learn a new language can have a better language education by grasping the true meaning of it.

Statistically it is proven that English learning attendants nowadays have faster pace at acquiring English than before. Many researchers believe these improvements are because of the better learning of cultures and lifestyles of native English speakers through the Internet and medias like movies and online radios.

This essay argued that why learning a new language should be accompanied by the learning of cultures, customs, and the background of the people who speak that language. Nowadays, this method is scientifically proved to be helpful and before the modern age it was not as convenient as it is now. Regarding all the reasons given I completely agree with this new and comprehensive way of learning language.