Some people think that schools should involve students in school management.

Do you agree or disagree with this idea? Give reasons for your answer.

Nowadays, whether or not engaging students in the school administration is at the center of attention. While some people might consider it as impractical and dangerous, I explicitly approve that.

On the one hand, some people might find this change problematic for the school and even hazardous to the students. They argue that adolescent students are inexperienced and intrinsically careless at that age; Hence, their contribution would be full of possible blunders, which would bring calamity and chaos to the school. Moreover, when the school is student-governed, bulling by the older and stronger students might get quite rampant, and many students would get harmed physically and emotionally. Thus, they believe the mentioned idea is not practical at all.

On the other hand, I firmly believe this is a brilliant idea and fruitful for both the students and the school for a number of reasons. First of all, the students’ contributions are supervised, so none of the mentioned problems would happen. Secondly, schools are giving the students the chance to learn practical social skills which will help them in their future life and career. As a proof, a study undertaken by Harvard University reveals 78% of Fortune 500 CEOs at least once had the experience of managerial contribution during their childhood either at school or home. Finally, some of the burdens of school management are reduced by the help of students, which can reduce the costs associated. All in all, it is imperative to engage students in school management.

To sum up, although some people wrongly argue students’ participation in school management as troublesome, with direct supervision, it can be quite beneficial for both the students and school with which I do agree.