The urban transport system receives more funds compared to the rural transport system.

Why do you think it is so? How can it be solved?

Unfortunately, while many rural settlers are in dire need of proper public transportation, most of the funds are allocated to major cities’ transportation systems. The causes of this appear to be twofold, and a number of solutions also seem to be possible.

Perhaps the significant factor here is the role of the governments in allocating funds based on the tax-money collected. Cities are densely populated and people there, by average, have higher incomes than those of rural areas, so the amount of tax collected in cities is much higher. Consequently, Governments are budgeting more money on urban public transit because cities have more contribution to their income.

Moreover, from the privet-sector perspective, transportation companies are more inclined toward investment in lucrative urban business atmospheres than rural areas. Hence, rural transit is deprived of both the federal government’s and the private enterprises’ funds.

Turning to possible solutions, an obvious step would be more government’s budget allocations on rural transit. Even though most of the funds might be obtained from urban incomes, by taking that measure, not only is the rural transit improved but also the public transportation would be enhanced nationwide. A second remedy might be subsidizing the privet transit companies to provide services in rural areas. If transportation services in rural areas become tax-exempt, many major transit companies will eagerly invest in those. All of the mentioned measures by the federal government is conducive to more funds in the rural transport system.

In summary, governments could certainly implement a range of measures to enhance the amounts of funds spent on the rural transport system.