Organized tour to remote community and other countries is increasingly popular. Is it a positive or negative development for the local people and environment?

Nowadays due to increased family incomes, people are travelling more to newer places both domestic and international. This longing to discover new places, people are organizing tour to remote communities around the world. In my opinion this is a negative trend.

To embark on, visiting remote communities like tribal areas in Africa or in Myanmar et cetera exposes these tribes different types of threats. Firstly, with increasing tourism more and more people will visit these places which will cause more pollution and littering. Secondly, there is also a probability of exposing these tribes to culture extinction. Because, local communities might get influenced by the tourists and try to adapt their culture and way of lifestyle. Thirdly, local wild life and vegetation are also vulnerable to destruction. The example substantiating this statement is, as tourism flourished in remote African wild life areas, travelers bribed the local authorities to hunt wild animals, aftermath of which was , the lions and rhinoceros were hunted down to extinction.

Furthermore, apart from all these potential perils, there is also intrusion in local customs and traditions too. The people are can get attracted toward the clothes of foreigners leading loss of local clothing style. Adding further, there can be invasion in religion beliefs too. The local communities can get mass conversion to religion of people visiting to those areas because of their affluence.

To conclude, I would reiterate my decision that this type of tourism is a negative trend. Because there is lot on stake of the remote communities and which should not be disturbed. Instead, these places should be left untouched as India has done with North Centennial Islands in Bay of Bengal.