Social Media has replaced the traditional methods of communicating and people use more and more social media to communicate, and to follow news and events. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

With the advent of internet and mobile phones, the communication has changed dramatically. Earlier people used to keep in touch with each other through letters or landline phones. But, with the advancement in technology letters were replaced by emails, social websites, chatting applications and wired telephones were superseded by mobile phones. Hence, nowadays people are more communicating through social media, and in my opinion the advantages of it has eclipsed its disadvantages.

To embark on, the internet has revolutionized the communication in sundry ways. Firstly, if we compare with letter, email and social websites are much more faster method of communicating. Moreover, we can get instant reactions from the receiver side, where as in case of postal mail, one has to wait long for reply. Apart from communication, social media can also be used for sharing news and events also and the exciting thing is that once a person share a news on such platforms, it spread like a wild fire. Which was not possible in the traditional methods. Therefore, that is people are using more and more social websites like Facebook or Twitter to communicate.

On the flip side, there are some disadvantages too associated with this trend. Since, people are profusely using social media to communicate and share news, they some times share wrong news as they are not authenticated. The repercussion of which can cause high tension in society or even riots. As access to this media is very easy, therefore few antisocial elements join this media to circulate posts regarding hatred in communities and also to execute some criminal activities.

To conclude, though the use of social sites has many negative points but its pros really overshadows them. Above all , it is the most doable way of fast communication.