In the past, museums stored information about culture and history. However, nowadays this information can be found through the Internet and, therefore, there is no need for museums. Do you agree or disagree with this view?

Although the internet is rich with information about culture and history, museums still offer an abundance of details about social behaviours, customs and other important facts about a country. Therefore, in my opinion, I strongly disagree with the idea of not having museums.

Admittedly, the internet is a resourceful place where we can find almost any information. Most people are heavily dependent on the internet when it comes to information. For example, if somebody wants to find historical details of one particular place, within seconds, one can find what they are looking for. Earlier, to do the same thing, people had to visit to the museum or had to refer several historical books to get the same data. Moreover, most of the web sites provide details in a readable manner which includes images, tables, and graphs which user can easily copy and paste according to their needs. In contrast, in museums, people have to put significant effort to gather and organise information.

On the other hand, those who are really interested in archaeology, natural history and cultural studies, cannot depend on the internet. Firstly, we cannot guarantee the accuracy of the facts available on the internet. Secondly, to get a real idea about an artefact, just a photo is not enough. People should be able to physically experience it. Thirdly and most importantly, to give better education to the children about their country’s history and evolution of social life, tours to the museums are a must. In fact, children are not interested in reading the history on the internet. However, once they see the artefacts, sculptures, and evidence of an elegant history in real-life, their interest would be greatly improved on the subject. Not to mention that everybody loves to see the life-like dinosaurs models rather than just pictures. Finally, nowadays, most of the museums have become entertainment centres with digitalize equipment to give a better experience to their customers.

In conclusion, despite the benefits such as speed search, availability of organised facts on the internet, the physical museums are offering far greater benefits to the user.