Some people believe that sport is an essential part of school life for children, while others feel it should be purely optional. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is believed by some that sport could be an extracurricular activity in school. However, there are others who consider that sport should be mandatory for children. In my opinion, I agree with the latter because I strongly believe that sports do a vital role in terms of making a better human being.

To begin with, sport is considered as one of the best activity to stay healthy. During school time if children did not learn the value of sport they would not be able to focus on their health when they grow-up. For instance, nowadays, people are living a fast-paced life with lots of unhealthy dietary and sedentary living habits. Therefore, most of the people tend to avoid physical activities. One of the major reason for this laziness could be the lack of involvement in sports during school times when it is an option subject. In addition, when it is an optional subject, not only children but also parents are more attentive about achieving higher grades in other subjects than sports. Consequently, children's attitude toward outdoor activities becomes deteriorated.

However, if schools could make sports as an essential subject, then every child would have the chance to engage. As a result, their habit of staying a physically active life would be developed. Moreover, we should also take into account that team sport is an extremely important activity to learn about team-work and to improve tolerance. Which are increasingly valuable in the professional life to have a better work-life balance. Furthermore, the more the children are active, the better their cognitive abilities would be. In fact, to have a better mind, the body should be healthy and active.

In conclusion, making sports an optional subject in schools can affect children later in their life. Therefore, I strongly agree to make sport as an essential subject to develop well-balanced human beings.