Nowadays, people are not only shopping in malls but they are also shopping online from eCommerce sites such as amazon.com, taobao.com, etc. There is a debate that whether people’s shopping habits relied more on the age classification or not. I believe there are different factors, which influence shopping habits rather than the age group and this essay will argue this opinion.

On the one hand, the age group potentially affects how frequent people go shopping. There is a fact that when people become more mature, they will have more connections. According to the report from Adidas, the age group of people from 30 years olds to 45 years old that has the most connection comparing to other group and this group is most addicted to shopping. This example supported the argument that the age group classifies shopping habits.

Despite the age cluster is one of the factors affecting shopping habits, there are several factors giving more influence to the shopping activity of people. The first important reason, which affects directly the frequency of shopping, is income. Obviously, residents cannot buy cloth, groceries, and other kinds of stuff without money. The second reason affecting shopping behavior is gender. It is easy to see a great deal of people who usually go to malls for shopping is female. To support this, the study of Nike presented that about 70% of people who usually visit shopping malls are female. These examples strongly supported the opinion that there are different reasons that contribute to the shopping frequency of people rather than the age group.

This essay argued why the age group is not considered as the main factor that affects the shopping habits of people. In my opinion, I totally agree with this argument.