People should work a fixed number of hours per week and employers should not ask anybody to work more than this. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant example from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays worklife has become hectic due to load and project deadlines. Corporates should obey weekly prescribed work hour structure. Nobody should be forced, either by employer or management, to put in more hours. I completely agree with the statement, reasons are in following paragraphs.

Firstly, putting in more hours is required because of ‘project deadline culture’. Where more work is required to be done by few people in a short period of time. For example, ‘Service industry catering in Information Technology field’. This employer force results in low quality of work, project with errors or sometimes blunders. These faults further impacts future business opportunities to employer.

Secondly, there are fixed hour policy set in almost every country. But not only employers are hesitating to follow these rules, also some employees assist to contraband them. To illustrate, employees on desk job in management corporate offices seems to have this inclination. These are employees who want to impress their superior by working extra hours. They pose an impression that they are only efficient people in office and many times superiors award them with promotions and higher positions. These few people exemplify and force large chunk of employees to follow and enter into a vicious cycle of extra hour work.

If this cycle is broken, then advantages are numerous. Employees can have work-life balance, happy employee can assure quality work. And a positive cycle can come up with ultimate benefit to employer with continuous new business.

To sum up, by forcing employees to work extra, employer is having disadvantages of low quality work, breaking rules. By abiding rules, a happy employee will have work-life balance.