People spend a lot of money on various things as they earn more money nowadays than before. Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, innumerable career options are available for individuals to choose from. Everyone wants to buy several things to make their life easy. To fulfill such requirements, earning hefty amount is in vogue.Some school of thought arguing that whether it is a negative or positive development? I believe, this development has drawbacks and can lead to adverse consequences. I will elaborate it in detail in the later paragraphs.

To commence with, the most prominent demerit would be, people will become materialistic and will compare everything with the cost. Because the judgement of a person character will depend on the things he posses , it will create a sense of disrespect among masses. To illustrate, a survey revealed that today, masses give respect to others on the basis of clothes and, the house in which they resides and treat them accordingly. Thus, it would have bad impact on the mindset of people.

Besides this, it will stimulate more greed. Everyone will join the rat race and get busy in their work for long hours and it could hamper their relationship with loved ones. The distance will increase by time and it could lead to separation of families. To exemplify, in a magazine report , it was mentioned that professionals who stay busy in their work all the time, often face family troubles. Therefore, it can disturb the personal lives.

To conclude, I think, this progress would have several demerits. It would have damaging effects on the society and on the families as well. People should find out wise solutions to overcome these shortcomings otherwise they can face troubles in the upcoming future.