A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Social Media have been influencing the masses to follow the trending culture and outfits. People nowadays prefer sharing their activities accompanying their latest attire to attract more viewership. This mindset of showing off to the followers has created an illusion that the society accepts the materialistic values rather than the character of a person. The argument, that the material possession is not admirable then the personal value is discussed below.

Firstly, the online social media platforms for example Facebook, Instagram, Snapchat, etc. have lots of models who showcase their outfits which are sponsored by the marketing team of respective brands. Since mobile has become a handy device, research shows that the marketing budget has now shifted from television to online platforms. It is quite uncertain that they have the ownership of those items. So one should not get judgemental about the possession of such products.

Secondly, few people just love to travel, moreover with the help of the internet, they are making money out of air. But behind that videos or photos, there is a lot of dedication of there time along with dexterous hard work. One should try to learn the skills and knowledge they share, instead of getting jealousy or attraction towards their material possession. By showing off such products they make money from the brands.

On the contrary, few people run behind the people who hold the costlier objects. Such mundane thinkers can never be successful in their career aspects. They think owning such object makes them look rich and are accepted by society; somehow if they manage to purchase those items, they come in financial troubles if not planned properly. For example, buying the costliest car in the market on loan will subsequently make your account deficit leading to financial problems.

To sum up, with the people who hold the paramount products are the one who has struggled to make their dream come true. One must try to learn the moral values of the person who holds the ownership of such highly valuable goods and develop themselves to achieve their dreams instead of imitating others.