Plastic containers have become more prevalent than ever. They are used in many businesses such as in the food and beverage sector. Do you think the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Recent decades have witnessed the increasing popularity of plastic packings which are used in a lot of businesses such as in the food and beverage sector. Many people claim their benefits in term of cost saving, while others state their drawbacks regarding environmental pollution. In my opinion, the merits of this trend outweigh their shortcomings.

On the one hand, the use of plastic containers can benefit manufactures money saving by reducing supply chain costs. Firstly, plastics are prized for being lightweight and not bulk, which leads to shipping and transportation cost cheaper than alternatives which are glass, steel or cork when distributing products into market. Secondly, each plastic box might replace hundreds of individual cartons due to being durable and strong. Therefore, the surging use of plastic bags tend to be more convenient and cheaper option for product distribution.

On the other hand, this type of packing is getting more prevalent in recent years, but it cannot denied that one of the immerits of this trend are detrimental effects on environment. In fact, plastics are products which made from fossil fuels leading to be hard to decompose. Moreover, it is evidence that they can remain their own shape until one hundred years. As the results, the existence for years and their risks of releasing hazardous substances possibly cause environment contamination.

In conclusion, the use of plastic boxes provides people with cost saving, whereas their damages that result from negative phenomenon will affect environment. I believe that the advantages will likely outweigh disadvantages in the long run. It is predicted that the modern word could not do without plastic containers which are one of the most developed sectors of economy.