At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do you think that the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In today's scenario, a number of countries have more population of young adults than senior citizens. In my opinion, such an imbalance between younger and older people has more benefits to country and people than any disadvantages it might bring. My views are supported further with reasons and examples.

Despite the minimum drawbacks below, I believe that the benefits gained by nations due to greater proportion of young adults than senior people are extremely useful. The biggest advantage is that young people have more energy and capability to work and so can contribute efficiently to the growth of the nation. For instance, India's 45% of the population is below the age of 30, which helps the nation to grow above 8% GDP, unlike the average world GDP of 3%. The other benefit is since a larger proportion of young people are working, the government has enough funds that it collects in the form of tax. This fund can be utilized not only to develop infrastructure, transportation and hospitals but also to develop new technology and medicines with the aim to improve the standard of living of citizens.

Admittedly, there are some issues involved when a nation has greater number of young adults compared to old people. One problem is that older people will have to retire early in order to solve the problem of youth unemployment in the nation. Because there are many young people who are competing for the same job and can work efficiently than older people, organizations are forced to retire old people. For instance, according to research in developing nations in Asia, 56% of older people complained that they were forced to retire mandatory by the top authority in order to employ young adults and increase the productivity of the organization. Another point to consider is that there is a possibility of an increase in crime in the society. Due to fewer older people in society, young ones are not mentored properly and there is a possibility that they resort to crime and other activities to satisfy their over-ambitious demands.

In conclusion, the growth of the nation and enough funds for the development far outweigh any of the minor problems that could result from having a major population of young individual's compared to senior people. This is because drawbacks are easy to tackle and can be overcome through simple actions to be taken on time.