At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do you think that the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays due to the low mortality rate, the number of older people are continuously decreasing while, the number of younger adults are rapidly increasing. The disparity is so vast, that, the young comprise a major part of the population in some countries. This trend is advantageous as the youth are considered to be the backbone of any countries economy.

To begin with, young adults are more adaptable to change and are up to date with the latest technology. In other words, they do not shy away from taking risks and are always on the hunt for newer technology in order to get the work done efficiently. Next, the pension given to the older generation is very menial and are not on par to meet the current expenses. Hence, they rely heavily on healthcare as opposed to the young. To elucidate, the USA drains billions in maintaining their ageing population. On the other hand, Singapore invests their money in the younger generation to make them job ready. Therefore, having a large number of young adults are beneficial to the countries economy.

Nevertheless, there are some downside to having too many young adults. Firstly, their over dependence on technology instead of using manpower may cause acute job shortage. Those who are not up to speed with the latest development may lose their jobs and result in a rise in unemployment. Secondly, if the young have too much power they can make changes in the policies which in turn may adversely affect the older people. However, with proper research and studies a crises can be avoided. For instance, a doctors job cannot be completely overtaken by technology and needs to have a human touch. In the same way, if policies are formulated by considering the repercussions then they can prove to be beneficial in the long run.

In conclusion, the pros far outweigh the cons. Although, older people are needed to guide the young, they prove to be redundant beyond a point. Conversely, countries that have a relatively large number of young adults are more technologically sound and successful.