In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, there is tendency that small local shops or markets have closed because of costumers who prefer to go to larger shopping centres. This fact can has positive and negative sides.

On the one hand, people can have good opportunities by going to huge shops choosing different types of products. The majority of amount of shopping malls have vary of food products or clothes. For example, there can be special food for allergenics or vegetarians. Other benefits that there can be clothes for all gentles and children too. So, families probably will save time of buying everything necessary just in one huge shop. There is absolutely advantageous for families to go to this kind of shops instead of local small ones.

On the other hand, it is obvious that people perhaps will not travel to malls every day. During a work week people often do not have enough time to go to malls. Because of size this kind of shops parents can spent evening hours for buying products. Sometimes it is important to have small shops near home for example for buying some bread or milk for breakfast. Even more children needed some basic things urgent thus small shops in this case can be extremely helpful. Consequence, in some unpredictable life circumstances huge shopping centres and malls can bring unhelpful benefits.

To summarise, these developments it is obvious that it can be positive and negative due to certain circumstances. Also, it depends on people preferences. As our modern society can choose what is more convenient and comfortable the shop owners offer us different types of shops and markets.