Restricting air travel is the only way to prevent air pollution.

Do you agree?

All over the world today, it can be observed that the issue of air pollution has grown in importance over the past few decades. Some believe that the only method of reducing air pollution is to limit the number of flights. I disagree with the statement because limiting the number of flights can be one way; however, other measures such as properly regulating the motor vehicles and also other modes of transport such as truck and buses.

To begin with, it’s undeniable that aeroplane cause air pollution as they produce a huge amount of carbon dioxide which causes a lot of pollution in atmosphere and leads to global warming. For example, it is estimated by Green Peace that 13,000 tonnes of C02 is released in atmosphere by planes every year, thus increasing the carbon footprint in the air. Although it is possible to control this pollution by reducing the frequency of flights, it will not fully solve the problem, because the majority of pollutants in the air do not come from aircrafts and as such it cannot be considered the number one cause of air contamination.

In Accordance, the major cause of air pollution is the emission of poisonous gases in air by vehicles and factories. There are millions of cars on the road, which uses fossil fuels in turn releases toxic gases, thus it contributes in bad air quality. Factories also release plenty of gases in the air, which are also a contributing in global warming. Therefore, limiting the use of private transportation and harsher restriction on factories owners can assist in reducing the numbers, hence, subsidising electric car and aware the public the downside of burning fossil fuels and other chemicals.

In conclusion, restricting air traffic can lessen the air pollution but not totally eradicate it. Air pollution is caused by a different number of factors but just not only by planes, hence, limitation of air flights is not a proper solution.