The rise of convenience food has helped people keep up with the speed of modern lifestyle. What are the advantages? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The importance and popularity of fast food has become increasingly common over the past few years due to the ever dynamic way of life. People from vastly different geographical zones, educational backgrounds and cultural beliefs are more inclined to keeping up with the rising trend of purchasing convenience food such as junks and beverages. Personally, I consider the negatives of this development to outweigh the positives, and in this essay, I will discuss both perceptions using examples from The Daily Times newspaper and the University of Nigeria to buttress points and prove arguments.

One one side of the argument, there is almost daily evidence that more and more people patronize various food outlets for their daily consumption. The central reason behind this is twofold, firstly, it saves time especially for working class or tightly engaged people who do not have the time to prepare decent meals due to their busy schedules. Secondly, the ease and convenience derived from purchasing ready made food helps to reduce stress significantly as most people find themselves multitasking on daily basis. A good illustration for this is seen in many excellent restaurants offering a wide range of cuisines (ranging from grains, wholewheat, sauce, meat and vegetables, etc.) for the ethnically diverse population. These food vendors experience rush hour in the morning of every working day, as a large number of people visit for their breakfast, according to the a recent report by the The Daily Times newspaper.

Conversely, although there are significant advantages these food outlets have in our growing population, its multifold downsides cannot be denied. This is largely because it encourages laziness, and people no longer practise the "Do-It-Yourself" (DIY) promotional campaign specifically for women in the society. As a result, they find it difficult to try out new things and enhance their cooking skills which will ultimately become beneficial to them in their respective homes. For instance, an extensive study by the University of Nigeria confirmed that over a five year period, the number of students who participated in the annual African Food competition within the school significantly dropped to 15% of the total population. It is therefore evident that some people have already lost interest in food preparation.

To recapitulate, although convenient food saves time and eases stress, it also has serious negative consequences, and I reteirate my opinion by saying that the negative influence is greater than the positive ones.