The current trend in education is to move away from traditional exams and instead have continuous assessment over the school year.

What do you think of this trend?

As a symbolic demonstration of the dynamics in the educational system, traditional sessional examinations are increasingly being replaced by continuous assessments throughout the academic session. The current trend has resulted in positive outcomes as many schools across the globe have recorded increased academic performance amongst students on a yearly basis.

A great deal of evidence indicates that universities and high schools which rely on general traditional exams struggle to grow academically because teachers are unable to give their best in imparting knowledge to students. They cover the entire content of the session’s syllabus in one seemingly endless stream, without any provision to continuously check the students’ level of understanding. Unfortunately, overall academic performance is only ever reflected at the end of the session, by when it would be too late to make any impactful changes. Several media publications seem to bear evidence. For instance, a recent Vanguard newspaper report indicates that in the last twelve years, no public school has been ranked in the top ten schools in Nigeria.

In my opinion, assessing students during, not after the school session, plays a vital role in producing excellent graduates worldwide. Young and vibrant, children tend to learn more when assigned school projects, homework and oral presentations immediately after every topic taught. From my personal experience in secondary school, the oral presentation I gave on the digestive system helped me to gain in-depth knowledge, while demonstrating my level of understanding to the biology teacher. After the presentation, she was able to identify and focus on weak areas. Thanks to this, I graduated with a perfect score in Biology.

In conclusion, it is clear that the current trend of moving from traditional exams to continuous assessments have has greatly improved the overall performance of students to a level previously unachieved.