The current trend in education is to move away from traditional exams and instead have continuous assessment over the school year.

What do you think of this trend?

As a symbolic demonstration of the dynamics in the educational system, sessional examinations are increasingly being replaced by continuous assessments throughout the academic session. This newly improved trend has resulted to positive outcomes as many schools across the globe have recorded increased academic performance amongst students on a yearly basis.

There is a good deal of evidence that universities and high schools that rely on general exams struggle to grow as teachers no longer give in their best in imparting knowledge to students. They continuously cover the entire topics in the school syllabus without constant follow-up on student's level of understanding, which will ultimately reflect in their overall performance after exams. For instance, in over twelve years of ranking, no government school in Nigeria have reached the top ten due to low success rate in exams conducted at the end of the session, according to The Vanguard news report.

On the other hand, assessing students during school session has played a vital role in producing excellent graduates worldwide. Young and vibrant children tend to learn more when given school projects, assignments and oral presentations after each topic taught. From my personal experience in secondary school, the oral presentation I had on digestive system helped me to to gain in-depth knowledge on that topic and also, proved to my biology teacher my understanding level. After the presentation, she laid more emphasis on certain areas that I failed to mention. With this assessment and many more, I graduated with a perfect score in that subject.

In conclusion, it is clear that the practice of continuous assessments in various schools have greatly improved the overall performance of students, which ordinarily is almost unachievable with traditional examinations.