Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Scientific research has gained widespread importance due to its ability to find solutions for various troubles of mankind. As such, research in various fields are being pursued by governments, individuals and private organisations. It is not advisable to restrict the liberal expansion of research programs and limit the scope of scientific research as government projects. This essay states that the government should not curtail the freedom of other agencies to produce effective solution for numerous problems as private companies mainly invest in enhancing customer experience.

First of all, governments have to focus on a variety of issues other than scientific research such as providing basic amenities and protection to its citizenry. This may deter the government from spending extravagantly in the scientific field, leading to a stagnant growth of science which may subsequently effect the progress in different fields including agriculture, transportation and entertainment. For example, Bt brinjal, a seed variety of brinjal with better pest resistance capacity was produced by a private Indian company, which helped many farmers in India, increasing the yield.

Moreover, private companies and individuals are not answerable to the public in regard to utilization of finances since they are using their own private funding. This gives them supreme freedom to carry out necessary research programmes. Additionally, many independent individuals have used their valuable time to partake in research activities. A few of such noteworthy scientists include Alexander Graham Bell, Thomas Alva Edison and Marie Curie.

In conclusion, research experiments should be carried out by private and public agencies in order to to produce fruitful results, without any constraints restraining them. Monopolisation of scientific research may only dwindle the spirit of innovation through extensive scientific research.