A serious problem affecting countries across the globe is the lack of water for drinking, washing and other household uses. Why do many countries face water shortage, and what could be done to alleviate the problem?

Our world is dealing with catastrophic phenomenon such as drought, famine. Most of these samples are related to water shortage which sooner or later all countries would be involved. In this essay, I intend to explorer the sources of this problem along with possible solution to it.

From my point of view, traditional agriculture is the key factor to water crisis. Farmers has been consuming water resources throughout history without considering its limitation, so due to inappropriate ways of watering, they have wasted many of this valuable asset. Fortunately, lately, technological advances come handy and offer them tricks to save water while boosting the productivity, but it needs governmental aid to invest money or pay them loan with low investment to attract them.

Domestic water usage like brushing, showering, washing, and also gardening is another forms of wasting water which by educating could be solved. If people knew that how many water could be saved while doing these stuff, they would definitely follow possible approaches especially when they can lower their bills. Therefore, by rising humans’ awareness, we would see a dramatic decrease in the number of water meter. For example, we could install devices to gather raindrops and use it to water our gardens also teaching them how to wash teeth just by a glass of water or take a shower in 5 minutes.

Another contributing factor is that people do not believe that this disaster is coming. Media should show countries which are suffering lack of clean water and warn them about the future. Documentaries could attract their attention. Cartoons would educate children to respect this energy.

In conclusion, although our world is in danger of running out of this essential resource, I believe by the help of government and educating people, we could resist and survive.