Should the government impose a heavy tax on private car owners to improve the public transportation system to reduce the traffic problem in many cities?

What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

There is no question that public transportation is one of the most pressing issues of the huge cities nowadays. Overpopulation and increasing numbers of private vehicles force municipal governments to find solutions for this problem. The higher tax system for car owners is one of them. Let us consider pros and cons of that method.

On the one hand, heavy taxes for private car owners have some clear benefits of its involvement. Firstly, it will obviously lead to decreasing the number of vehicles on the roads. As a result, people can get to their job more easily and work more effectively. Secondly, the air pollution will be reduced which is very important for megapolises. Besides that, the collected funds could be used for public transportation development and maintenance.

On the other hand, there are several drawbacks of taxing private cars. In first, it is quite clear that the majority of city population will prefer to use public transportation to avoid additional expenses. Thus, it could lead to a threat of overloading of municipal transport facilities. Furthermore, there is obvious that the lack of needed infrastructure in rural areas will make difficult the transportation for those communities. Finally, the taxes could create huge risks for automotive industry. The drop in the sales of cars will provoke the closings of productions and shops which means workforce reductions and job losses.

Taking into the consideration all mentioned above it can be concluded that additional taxes on car users could have both positive and negative drawbacks. Undoubtedly, improvement of transport infrastructure and ecological situation are good points. At the same time, the initiative can lead to inconvenience for suburbs and countryside and cause threats for economics of the region.