Smacking children to is the best method to discipline. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

If there were ever a vote to select the most effective way of parenting, there will not be a clear winner. However, if asked to cite the toughest challenge of parenting, the unwavering answer would be disciplining children. While many parents will consider a lenient smack-free way of raising children, I would beg to disagree and be of the opinion that some form of reprimand is important for disciplining young kids.

To begin with, the potential drawback of the non-strict parenting style is that kids often grow-up to feel entitled. To illustrate, every supermarket will almost always have a young parent giving in to the tantrums of their children in order to cajole them. What this leads to, is that kids learn this behavioural pattern, and repeat the action later. Moreover, they are now aware that the parent will heed in to their demands sooner or later. Since they have been raised in an environment where all their whims and fancies were served without any reprimand, such kids feel entitled to get everything in the world, without working for it. Moreover, this character trait causes massive issues in later years of life. Unfortunately, when faced with the harsh realities of life, the once spoilt-kids, are mentally not prepared to handle the challenges.

On the other hand, kids who had a loving but at the same time a disciplined childhood, tend to grow up as realistic and responsible adults. For example, in many of the Asian countries, the recommended parenting style is to give complete freedom to kids until they turn 5, follow strict discipline for age 5-12 years, and to be a friend to the kids when they turn into teenagers. The period through the ages of 5-14 is when the child is at a very impressionable age. Therefore, it is necessary that real values be taught to the children during these formative years. Upon misbehaving, firstly, the kid should be mildly reprimanded. This in most cases resolves the issue. However, if the lesson is not learned, a strict disciplinary action must be taken. This ensures that the youngster imbibes the teachings, which in effect will make them a better adult. As a result, the kids are not spoilt and learn the value of hard work and discipline.

To conclude, I agree with the age old adage of spare the rod, and spoil the child. However, since none of the parents want their children to hate them, it is imperative to maintain the right blend of freedom, discipline and friendship.