In some countries around the world men and women are having children at a later age than in the past. What are the reasons for this development? What are the effects on society and family life?

Modern era has witnessed the change in trend of family planning in many areas. Nowadays, couples are planning families at older ages, and there are numerous reasons of this change like work-life goals force them to delay for family and for some for protection of freedom to longer run inculcates towards this decision. This trend is affecting both social and personal life of a person which will be discussed in the forth coming paragraph.

To begin with, gone are the days when women were only confide to the walls of house, now both are working hand in hand to survive in this competitive world. Therefore in the race of work-life balance, work is always at priority and force couples to plan for new member at later age as this not only distract them from work but also have adverse effect on career progression. Another aspect is a baby always come with bundle of responsibilities and many pairs do not want to get involved in this at tender age of their married life and eventually postponing the decision for elder ages.

All these situations explained above are putting negative effect on society and family too. It is evident that grown up parents do not have much energy to catch up with the children and this will indirectly put ill-effect on a child’s overall growth. Society is also get effected by the age gap between the generations as mother nature has set cycle for each generation and via planning children at old age one can disturbing the cycle of birth. For instance, a survey has shown that elder parents will not able to survive till child reach marriage age.

To conclude, there is no shadow of doubt that busy work schedule and fear of responsibilities force married ones to postpone the decision of having children. This is affecting not only developing generation gap but also hindering cognitive development of child.