In some countries, governments are encouraging industries and businesses to move to regional areas outside the big cities.

Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

The rapid increase in population and pollution from the past two decades is a serious concern in cities worldwide. Therefore the law an enforcement body initiative to move industries, out of major towns is in trend these days. Definitely the merits of shifting factories to regional areas overpower its demerits. Let us discuss in detail below.

To begin with, this is helpful for the government to control the population in towns. To go deeper, people living in villages do not have basic facilities namely employment and education. Hence, the attraction of job opportunities, health services, and educational institutes force them to leave their native places to live a better life. In order to, if the industries are shifted to the countryside, the people living there will get employment as well as good infrastructures such as roads and electricity. For instance, the survey conducted by the Gujrat government shows the employment rate in villages is raised by 15% after the manufacturing companies established in regional areas nearby Ahemdabad.

Additionally, it is beneficial for industrialists as they can get rid of the congestion in cities and tax deductions. Because of the factories requires large space to set up their plants, to run the production process smoother while the limited land in towns is a problem for them. Whereas, in regional areas, they can easily set up their bigger machines and they can also save some money, due to low rents and affordable land prices to buy. Also, the government allocates the special economic zones in rural regions to encourage new businesses. Quark city, industrial area and IT Park in Mohali are the perfect examples where some leverages are given on taxes by the governments.

In conclusion, undoubtedly shifting industries to regional parts of the nation is better, as it will assist the government in the development of rural areas and it is a solution of a few major issues in cities.