In some countries, most people prefer to rent their homes rather than buying them.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of renting a home?

In many nations, the majority of populace focusses on renting a house instead of purchasing. It is advantageous to live in rented accommodation as it is easily affordable, however, this has negative effects as no ownership and wealth are created.

On the positive side, renting an apartment is easily accessible. This is because the charges involved in leasing not demand huge savings but require only fewer upfront costs which can be easily managed. Moreover, all expenses involved in the repair and maintenance of the house are taken care of by the landlord, not the tenant. A recent survey carried out by Census Commissioner, under the Ministry of Home affairs depicted that majority of people who are residing in rented homes are more contented, because they are relieved from the stress of paying huge monthly installments and repairs.

On the negative side, monthly payment towards rent just put a hole in the pocket. This can be considered as paying huge monthly rentals only benefits the homeowners not landlords and the same amount can be utilized for making payment of mortgage loan. This results in wastage of hard-earned money which can be better utilized in the creation of wealth and owning a house. This is why the Tata Group of industries has initiated to provide loans to their employees with less interest, so that they can be benefitted in the long term with extended wealth.

In conclusion, renting a house bring a lot of advantages and disadvantages depending on individual preferences. Whereas it seems that people who don’t possess much savings feel renting as the better option while with better mortgage opportunities one can focus on wealth creation.