Some people argue that capital punishment is good for a country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?
It is argued by some that the death penalty benefits a nation. I completely agree with this
opinion and in this essay I will state the reasons for my view.
The most compelling reason for holding to my view is that the death penalty is an effective
deterrent to serious crime. This is because it instils fear of carrying out serious crimes as
people would not want to lose their life as a result of that. For example, people who are
thinking of murder or committing violent acts will think twice before doing so. As a result of
this policy, crime rate would go down.
Another reason for my position is that the government will be able to spend less money on
keeping the criminal in prison. If the criminal is jailed for many years or for life, the
government would need to pay for the enormous expenses involved such as the cost of food
for the prisoners and the salaries for the prison officers. However, with the death sentence, the
prisoner will spend less time in prison and this would reduce the cost of imprisonment
substantially.
Lastly, with capital punishment, the dangerous criminal would never be able to reoffend. The
reason for this is that executed criminals will no longer be alive and therefore they will never
pose a threat to society ever again. This would make society a safer place.
In conclusion, I totally agree with the opinion that sentencing serious criminals to death is
beneficial for countries. This is because of its deterrent effect, its ability to save the
government a lot of money and the fact that we can keep dangerous criminals out of society
forever. Given this situation, it is recommended that governments around the world should
think about implementing this form of punishment.